Who can Play?


There is no reason why golf should not be enjoyed by everyone, including those with limited or no vision. Whilst it is natural to think of golf as an activity requiring eyesight, that is not necessarily the case. The game of golf is enjoyed by thousands throughout the world who have someone else be their “eyes”. This person is called a caddy.

Players and caddies on the greenPeople come to play golf in three ways:

  • Those who have played golf as a sighted person and lose their sight. They wish to continue to play.
  • Others who have never played golf, lose their sight and are looking for an opportunity to participate in a sporting event.
  • Those who have never had sight but are looking for a game which they can enjoy.

Sight Categories

Blind Golf is played with three internationally recognised sight classifications which are detailed below. In addition, there is an Australian B4 category and the WABGA has introduced a local B5 category. Full details are here.

Blind B1

No light perception in either eye up to light perception but unable to differentiate between a blank sheet of white paper and a sheet of white paper with a black symbol on it.  All B1 players are required to wear approved black out glasses in any competition sanctioned by IBGA or BGA.

Vision Impaired B2

Is from B1 to a maximum of less than 2/60 or equivalent corrected in either or both eyes in any direction.

Vision Impaired B3

Is from a B2 to a maximum of less than 6/60 (20/200) in any direction.  Corrected in either or both eyes.

The IBGA has a standard sight classification form. All blind and vision impaired golfers must update this sight classification form at least every three years or when there is a change in their eyesight.

The Blind Golf Association in Australia has introduced a B4 category to gain the interest of those vision impaired golfers who do not currently comply with the above sight classification requirements. A Vision Impaired B4 is defined as from B3 above up to and including 6/36 acuity. B4 players will be eligible to play local and state events and in their own Australian Stableford Championships. B4 players can only be eligible to win their own sight category providing there are at least 3 B4 players participating in their event.

Finally, the WABGA introduced a B5 category in October 2016 which is defined as a visual acuity from 6/18 up until but not including 6/36. B5 golfers are not allowed a BGA or IBGA handicap and therefore will not be allowed to compete in International, National or State Competitions. A B5 golfer is unable to compete in the monthly 18 hole game under IBGA rules, although they are welcome to play alongside the other golfers.
B5 golfers can play in WABGA games by using the appropriate handicap, but will not be eligible for the Club Championship.

Junior Golf

Junior Golf - WA Blind Golf AssociationThere is no age limit to Blind Golf and we welcome younger players. The youngest player in WA is only in their twenties.